Patanjali teaches that when you enter the stage of perfect wholeness, there is a calmness and a clarity that reflect prefect presence. The antidote to impatience is allowing yourself to reenter the flow of things, that is, to be in sync with the speed with which things are happening. Beneath the thought “I am wasting […]

Tantric Yoga

Probably the most misunderstood or misinterpreted of all the yoga, the sixth branch of trantra is the pathway of ritual, which includes consecrated sexuality. The key word here is “consecrated” which means to make it sacred, to set it apart as something holy or hallowed. In tantric practice we experience the divine in everything we […]

Jnana Yoga

If we consider bhakti to be the yoga of the heart, then jnana yoga is the yoga of the mind. Jnana yoga is the path of the sage or scholar. This path requires development of the intellect through the study of the texts of the yoga tradition. This approach is considered the most difficult and […]

Bhakti Yoga

Bhakti yoga describes the path of devotion. Seeing the divine in all of creation, bhakti yoga is a positive way to channel the emotions. The path of bhakti provides us with an opportunity to cultivate acceptance and tolerance for everyone we come into contact with. Bhakti yogis express the devotional nature of their path in […]

Karma Yoga

Karma yoga is the branch of service and none of us can escape this pathway. The principle of karma yoga is that what we experience today is created by our actions in the past. Being aware of all this, all of our present efforts become a way to consciously create a future that frees us from […]

Raja Yoga

Raja  means “royal” and meditation is the focal point of this branch of yoga. This approach involves strict adherence to the eight “limbs” of yoga as outlined by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras. As with all branches of yoga, these eight limbs can also be found in many other branches of yoga. And as with a living tree, […]

Branches of Yoga

In ancient times yoga was often referred to as a tree, a living entity with roots, a trunk, branches, blossoms and fruit. Here in the west, hatha yoga is the most popular and often associated with “traditional” yoga. But it is only one of six branches, the others including raja, karma, bhakti, jnana and tantra. Each […]

Take a Deep Breath

What’s the big deal about breathing?  We do it all the time, right? Yes and no. Pranayama, or the yogic art of breath control, focuses on breathing consciously.It means treating the breath like another yoga pose. According to B.K.S. Iyangar, on e of the great living yoga masters and vital force at 91, “If you’re […]