Yin Yoga: The Yamas

Yin Yoga: The Yamas

Happiness is when what you think, what you do, and what you say are in harmony

– Mahatma Gandhi

The five Yamas and five Nimayas are a dynamic duo in yoga that provide guidelines for balanced living. These ten precepts are a vision of our greatest potential through skillful living. While we may not need more rules to live by, we can all benefit from more opportunities to practice mindful living.

The first of the five guidelines are the Yamas. The Yamas teach compassion for everything and everyone around us. Think of them as attitudes we take toward the world. They include: nonharming, truthfulness, nonstealing, nonexcess and nonpossessiveness.


In this five-part series we will explore each of the five yamas while being guided through a yin yoga practice. Kerry gives a modern application to these ancient texts making them accessible and practical in every day life.

Fee is on a sliding scale. This is about building community and personal empowerment! No one will be turned away if they can’t pay, though class size is limited. Click the button below to be taken to the contact page. Simply fill it out and I’ll let you know when the next series begins.

We have the choice to change our lives at any moment. Embodying the yoga sutras is a brilliant way to get realigned with your best self.

Next Series: Spring 2020!

Sign me up!